Mukhtar breaks Pakistan’s domestic T20 record

Sialkot Region thrashed Karachi Whites by seven runs in the opening match of the National Twenty20 Cup Cricket Tournament at Pindi Stadium in Rawalpindi on Tuesday. Sialkot won the toss and elected to bat first. They made 198 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs. Mukthar Ahmad played a scintillating knock of 123 runs off 67 balls including eighteen fours and three sixes while Nauman Anwar scored 51 runs off 34 balls hitting seven fours and a six. Right-hand opener Mukhtar broke the country’s domestic T20 record with his innings. The previous record for the highest score in the domestic T20 tournament was held by Imran Farhat who scored 115 runs. Chasing victory target of 199, Karachi managed to get to 191for the loss 6 scalps. Their main contributor was Ahsan Ali who played 76-run innings but could not save his team from defeat. For Karachi, Mir Hamza bagged 2 wickets for 30 runs. For Sialkot, Sultan Ahmed and Bilawal Bhatti grabbed 2 wickets for 26 and 22 runs.


Brief scores:


Sialkot 198-5 (Mukhtar Ahmad 123, Nauman Anwar 51; Mir Hamza 2-30, Tariq Haroon

1-37) vs Karachi Whites 191-6 (Ahsan Ali 76, Saifullah Bangash 34; Bilawal Bhatti

2-22, Sultan Ahmed 2-26)


Toss: Sialkot and chose to bat


Result: Sialkot Region won by 7 runs


Twenty20 debuts: Saifullah Bangash and Saud Shakeel (Karachi Whites); Amad Butt (Sialkot)


Man of the match: Mukhtar Ahmed (Sialkot)


Umpires: Ahmed Shahab and Ahsan Raza.


Lahore Whites oust Islamabad by 3 wickets: Lahore Whites defeated Islamabad Region by three wickets at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi. Islamabad won the toss and elected to bat first. They scored 168 runs for loss three wickets. Babar Azam (59) and Imad Wasim (38) remained not out while Shan Masood scored 32 runs. Aizaz Cheema and Wahab Raiz bagged one wicket apiece for 46 and 23 runs. In reply, Lahore Whites achieved the target in 19.5 overs. Ahmed Shahzad (48), Muhammad Hafeez (34), Saad Nasim (28 not out) and Umar Akmal (21) were the main scorers. Shehzad Azam and Zohaib Ahmed grabbed three and two wickets for 38 and 29 runs, respectively. Ahmed Shahzad of Lahore Whites was declared player of the match.


Brief scores:


Islamabad 168-3 (Babar Azam 59, Imad Wasim 38; Wahab Riaz 1-23, Aizaz Cheema 1-46) vs Lahore Whites 169-7 (Ahmed Shehzad 48, Mohammad Hafeez 34; Shehzad Azam 3-38, Zohaib Ahmed 2-29)


Toss: Islamabad Region and chose to bat


Result: Lahore Whites won by 3 wickets


Man of the match: Ahmed Shehzad (Lahore Whites)


Umpires: Mohammad Sajid and Riazuddin


Karachi Blues defeat Abbottabad by 7 wickets: Karachi Blues defeated Abbottabad Region by seven wickets at Marghzar Cricket Ground in Islamabad. Batting first, Abbottabad scored 153 runs for the loss of eight wickets. Younus Khan (51) and Adnan Raees (30) were the main scorers. Muhammad Sami and Roman Rais bagged 2 wickets each for 24 and 33 runs, respectively. In reply, Karachi achieved the target in 16.4 overs after losing three wickets. Khalid Latif (65) and Fawad Alam (45) played undefeated knocks while Shahzaib Hasan scored 36 runs. Ahmad Jamal, Yasir Shah and Kamran Ghulam bagged one wicket each for 24, 34 and 30 runs. Khalid Latif was declared player of the match.


Brief scores:


Abbottabad 153-8 (Younus Khan 51, Sajjad Ali 36; Mohammad Sami 2-24, Rumman Raees 2-33) vs Karachi Blues 154-3 (Khalid Latif 65, Fawad Alam 45; Kamran Ghulam 1-30, Ahmed Jamal 1-24)


Toss: Karachi Blues and chose to field


Result: Karachi Blues won by 7 wickets


Man of the match: Khalid Latif (Karachi Blues)


Umpires: Majid Hussain and Zameer Haider.


Hyderabad outclass Multan by 8 wickets: Hyderabad Region outclassed Multan Region by 8 wickets at Margazar Ground in Islamabad. Multan posted 186 for the loss of 4 wickets. Sohaib Maqsood played an impressive innings of 77 off 50 balls with the help of 10 fours and three sixes. Naveed Yasin scored unbeaten 55 runs off 31 balls. He hit 4 boundaries and three sixes during his sparkling innings. Nasir Awais got two wickets. In reply, Hyderabad raced home on the fourth delivery of the penultimate over of the match. Sharjeel hammered 91 runs off 45 balls. He hit four sixes and 13 boundaries. Faisal Ather contributed 56 off 41 balls with the help of six boundaries. Majid Ali and Zain Abbas captured one wicket apiece. Sharjeel was declared best player of the match.


Brief scores:


Multan 186-4 (Sohaib Maqsood 77, Naved Yasin 55; Nasir Awais 2-33, Nauman Ali 1-39) vs Hyderabad 190-2 (Sharjeel Khan 91, Faisal Athar 56; Majid Ali 1-30, Zain Abbas 1-42)


Toss: Hyderabad and chose to field


Result: Hyderabad won by 8 wickets


Twenty20 debut: Babar Khan (Hyderabad)


Man of the match: Sharjeel Khan (Hyderabad)


Umpires: Abid Naqvi and Nasar Khan.

Share This:


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember meLost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password