PCB announces squad for T-20 World Cup, Asia Cup

ISLAMABAD : The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup and Twenty-20 World Cup after assessing players’ performances from domestic and A team tours.

Pakistan have made four changes to their squad including the axing of struggling opener Ahmed Shehzad after a poor run of form.

Chairman PCB Shaharyar Mohammad Khan approved the squad at the recommendation of National Selection Committee headed by Haroon Rashid, according to press release issued here on Wednesday

The players include Shahid Afridi (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed (Vice-Captain/Wicket-keeper), Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Rais.

The team officials comprise Intikhab Alam (Team Manager), Waqar Younis (Head Coach), Mushtaq Ahmed (Spin Bowling Coach), Grant William Flower (Batting Coach), Yasir Malik (Trainer for Asia Cup), Grant Trafford Luden (Fielding Coach cum Trainer for World T20), Dr. Sohail Saleem (Physiotherapist), Shahid Aslam (Assistant Team Manager), Col. (R) Azam Khan (Security Manager), Agha Akbar (Media Manager), Talah Ejaz (Analyst) and Malang Ali (Masseur).

Haroon said while picking the squad, the team management and skipper were consulted by the selectors, and all concerned gave their consent in this regard.

“The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions during Asia cup and World T20 and the recent performances of some players in domestic and A Team tours.”

“The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in both tournaments.” Haroon said.



Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep yourself updated

Share This:


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember meLost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password