Senate elections to occur on March 3: ECP


Islamabad (Web Desk): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday finalised the schedule for Senate elections, setting March 3 as the date of the polling.

As per the schedule, the candidates can submit nomination papers from February 4-6 and the security will be done by Feb 9. The Senate elections will be held on March 3 for the 52 vacated seats.

The list of candidates will be issued on 15th of next month. At least 52 senators will complete their tenure this year.

ECP told that as many as four senators will be elected on general seats from FATA, 11 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) and Balochistan each, two from Islamabad and 12 each from Sindh and Punjab will be elected on different seats.

18 of the 26 Pakistan People’s Party senators including Senate Chairman Raza Rabbani, Opposition Leader Aitzaz Ahsan, Taj Haider and Farhatullah Babar will be retiring this year.

While the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), which has 26 senators will lose nine seats. Former finance minister Ishaq Dar, who is in London these days, will also be retired.

The Senate comprises 104 members in which 23 each are from four provinces, eight from Fata and four from Islamabad. The 23 seats allocated for each province comprise 14 general seats, four reserved for women, four for technocrats and one for a minority member.

Related Stories:

“Zainab muder case” echoes in National Assembly

Share This:


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember meLost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password