Senate Elections: PMLN issues new list of candidates

Senate Elections: PMLN issues new list of candidates

Islamabad (Web Desk): Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN) on Thursday issued new tickets to the party’s candidates for the Senate elections.

The tickets were awarded by party’s Chairman Raja Zafar-ul-Haq. The decision came after the Supreme Court’s verdict on Wednesday after which Nawaz Sharif was disqualified as the party head.

PML-N Chairman Raja Zafar-ul-Haq said the party chairman or president has the discretion to issue party tickets. He said consultations are underway to fill the position of party president.

He also added that tickets would now be submitted in his name because as per the constitution, he is now entitled to issue the tickets to the party nominees.

The decision was announced months after the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) passed a law allowing Sharif to remain at its helm despite being removed from the premiership and barred from holding any office over graft allegations last July.

In the court order Wednesday, Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar directed the Election Commission of Pakistan to remove Sharif as party head from all relevant records.

Elections for the Senate, the Pakistani parliament’s upper house, are due next month but would be postponed as a consequence of the Supreme Court ruling, analyst Hasan Askari said.

Related Stories:

ECP releases final lists of candidates for Senate polls

Share This:


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember meLost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password