Islamabad United become second time Champion in PSL Third Edition 2018

Islamabad United become second time Champion in PSL Third Edition 2018

KARACHI (Web desk): Islamabad United dominated defeated defending champions Peshawar Zalmi by three wickets on Sunday night to lift the trophy of the third edition of the Pakistan Super League.

The match marked the first time a PSL final was played in Karachi, as thousands of fans flocked to the sold-out National Stadium under tight security. It was also the city’s biggest cricket match in nine years, after terrorist attacks resulted in the suspension of international cricket in Pakistan.

According to the detail The National Stadium was lit up Sunday to welcome cricket’s homecoming to Pakistan’s biggest city, as thousands of fans flock to the sold-out National Stadium to witness two great teams face off.

Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah, Governor Sindh Muhammad Zubair Umar and Director General ISPR Major General Asif Ghafoor were present in the stadium.

Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Najam Sethi welcomed the spectators at the closing ceremony of the event and expressed his gratitude to the security forces for giving top-notch security for the event.

The PCB chairman requested fans to show the same passion in the series against West Indies, to be played a week later at the same ground.

First Inning

When Peshawar Zalmi Captain was won the the toss and elected to bat first Zalmi had troubled start as their key batsmen failed to deliver as per expectations.

Spinne Patel gave an early breakthrough to the United by striking down in-form batsman Kamran Akmal on his very first over of the game.

Later in his second over, Muhammad Hafeez fell prey to his flight and gave an easy catch to the bowler on eight runs.

The next to be returning back to the pavilion was opener, Andre Fletcher, as the Windies batsman wasn’t able to time a flipper from Shadab Khan, leading the ball to hit pads in the line of wickets.

Hussain Talat ended innings of Chris Jordan and Saad Nasim on the respective scores of 36 and two runs.

Shadab Khan picked the prize wicket of Zalmi skipper Darren Sammy on the 15.4 overs of the game with his googly delivery, and on the very next delivery dismissed Umaid Asif after taking a review. Though the next batsman in, Hasan Ali, denied him from Hattrick.


Second Innings

United’s opener Luke Ronchi made the 149-run target an easy chase for the team with his fiery 52 runs.

The Kiwi batsman was dismissed on the team score of 96 runs when Andre Fletcher took his catch on the ball of fast bowler Chris Jordan.

United wasn’t able to continue with the momentum staged by Ronchi due to back-to-back dismissals as where Chadwick Walton was dismissed by Umaid Asif on duck, skipper JP Duminy got out after scoring just two runs.

In a sudden, fast bowler Hasan Ali changed the dynamics of the game by taking two wickets of Samit Patel and Shadab Khan in his over.

Peshawar pacers appeared to have brought their team back into the game in the late over as Islamabad wickets fell in quick succession, but some late hitting by Asif Ali helped United make it over the finishing line for the second time in the three-year history of the tournament. and Islamabad United become a PSL third edition Champion


Luke Ronchi received the Man of the Match, Rashid Riaz is the PSL 2018 best umpire.

Kamran Akmal is awarded the ‘best batsman’ award.

Kumar Sangakkara wins the award for most catches this season.

Faheem Ashraf’s 18 wickets earn him the ‘best bowler’ award.

Share This:


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember meLost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password