Sadiq Sanjrani elected as new Senate Chairman

Sadiq Sanjrani elected as new Senate Chairman

Islamabad (Web Desk): Independent candidate from Balochistan, backed by joint opposition Sadiq Sanjrani has won Senate election for chairmanship with 57 votes on Monday.

Raja Zafarul Haq of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Sadiq Sanjrani, a joint candidate of opposition parties are contesting for Senate chairmanship. For deputy chairman, Usman Kakar of Pakhtukhwa Milli Awami Party and Salim Mandviwalla of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) are taking part.

Sanjrani an independent had been backed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P). According to reports, Sanjrani also had the support of independent senators elected from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)

The election for deputy chairman will now take place between government-backed Usman Khan Kakar from PkMAP and PPPs Saleem Mandviwalla.

Three senators belonging to Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) were initially absent namely, Maulana Faiz Muhammad, Abdul Ghafoor Hyderi and Attaur Rehman which could have served a blow to federally ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) but they returned before polling concluded.



Share This:


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember meLost your password?

Don't have account. Register

Lost Password